Seventh annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards set for Sept. 9

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The seventh annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards will honor student-athletes and moments from the 2017-18 Kansas Athletics campaign on Sunday, September 9, at the Lied Center on the University of Kansas campus.
The Academy Awards-style event begins with a red-carpet entrance and reception. During the main event, emceed by Voice of the Jayhawks Brian Hanni, top honors in seven different categories – Jayhawker Award, Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role, The Crimson Climb Award, True Blue Award, Rock Chalk Moment Award, and Male and Female Athlete of the Year – will be unveiled. Special student-athlete academic achievements will also be recognized during the program.
Nominees for each category will be released in the weeks leading up to the Rock Chalk Choice Awards. The Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role and Crimson Climb Award nominees will be released on August 23, the True Blue and Jayhawker Award nominees will be announced on August 30 and the Athlete of the Year nominees will be released on September 6.
A number of notable names from Kansas Athletics will be presenting awards this year, including current student-athletes Jeremiah Booker (football), Janet Koch (tennis), Tyler Johnson (women’s basketball), Khalil Herbert (football), Patricia Montero (volleyball), Valerie Swisher (rowing) and Mariah Kuykendoll (women’s track & field).  In addition, former student-athletes Tracey Bunge, Nick Giusti, Andrea Geubelle, Darrell Stuckey, Tre Daniels and Casey Douglas will also present awards.
Due to space limitations, the event is by invitation only and limited to athletic department staff, student-athletes, and selected KU faculty and dignitaries. The Rock Chalk Choice Awards will have a live Red Carpet Event, streamed on the KU Leads Instagram account.  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.