2015 Rock Chalk Choice Awards True Blue Nominees Released

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas student-athletes have little free time after class, practice, travel and competition commitments, making any extracurricular activity an extraordinary activity. A handful of the most extraordinary Jayhawks of 2014-15 have been nominated for the True Blue Award, one of seven special award categories among a spattering of last year’s achievements to be celebrated at the fourth annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards Sunday.

Gabriella DiMarco (golf), Maddie Irelan (rowing), Bryan Peters (football), Sophia Templin (softball) and Tayler Soucie (volleyball) are this year’s True Blue nominees, which honors a student-athlete who demonstrates devotion to excellence in academics and athletics while advancing Kansas Athletics through participation in student organizations or community service projects.

Following a red-carpet entrance and a reception in the Lied Center of Kansas lobby, accolades in seven different categories – Jayhawker Award, Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role, The Crimson Climb Award, True Blue Award, Rock Chalk Moment Award, and Male and Female Athlete of the Year – will be unveiled and special student-athlete academic achievements will be recognized during an Academy Awards-like ceremony.

Tammy Thomas-Ammons, an NCAA swimming champion in the 50- and 100-yard freestyle for the Jayhawks in 1983, will present the True Blue Award and is one of a handful of Kansas history makers and record breakers presenting awards to go along with this year’s event theme.

Other KU history makers and record breakers presenting awards include Bryan Sperry (football) for the Jayhawker Award; Ernie Shelby (track & field) for academics; Steve Renko (football, baseball and basketball) for Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role; David Jaynes (football) for the Crimson Climb Award; Billy Thomas (basketball) for athletic All-America recognition; Holly Gault (soccer) and Aaron Miles (basketball) for Female and Male Athlete of the Year; and Andrea Geubelle (track & field) for Moment of the Year.

As in years past, due to space limitations at the Lied Center the event is by invitation only and limited to athletic department staff, student-athletes, and selected KU faculty and dignitaries. This year’s invitees also include Hall of Fame level donors to Kansas’ Williams Education Fund. A tape-delayed presentation of the Rock Chalk Choice Awards will be aired at a later date on Time Warner Cable SportsChannel.

Nominees for top billing at the Rock Chalk Choice Awards, Kansas’ Female and Male Athlete of the Year, will be announced later this week. 

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.