RCW: Inside Men's Basketball 3.30

Get a quick look inside your favorite Kansas Jayhawk programs each week with Rock Chalk Weekly’s Inside Sports pages. Notable statistics, quick hits and the top social media posts get every Jayhawk fan up-to-speed and ready for another week of thrilling competition.
 Men's Basketball by the NumberNumber BY THE NUMBERS
Senior Frank Mason III accomplished two firsts while picking up four national player of the year awards at the 2017 Final Four in Phoenix, March 30-April 2. Mason became the first-ever Jayhawk to be named the Associated Press National Player of the Year on March 30. The next day Mason became the only Jayhawk to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Twitter @KUHoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball
Instagram @kuhoopsCox Ad Notes QUICK HITS

  • Senior Frank Mason III has picked up nine national player of the year honors with only one still left to be named, the Wooden Award, on April 7, one for which Mason is a finalist.
  • Should Mason win the Wooden Award, he would become the third student-athlete in the last four years to sweep the national player of the year honors. Creighton’s Doug McDermott swept in 2014 as did Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky in 2015.
  • On April 2, Mason was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) National Player of the Year. The award started in 1975 and Mason joined Danny Manning (1988), Drew Gooden (2002) and Nick Collison (2003) as the other KU NABC Player of the Year recipients.
  • On April 1, head coach Bill Self joined an elite group in being named an inductee to the 2017 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. His formal induction will be in September at the Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts. Of Kansas’ eight men’s basketball coaches, Self will be the fifth inducted into the Hall.

Men's Basketball Instagram of the Week

Men's Basketball Tweet of the Week