RCW: Sport Spotlight 4.28 (Men's Basketball)




VICTORY OVER DUKE! FINAL FOUR BOUND! Photo gallery: https://t.co/DesuS38GJ4 pic.twitter.com/P5e2x9R2H6

— Kansas Basketball (@KUHoops) March 26, 2018


raising canes 

No better way to be welcomed home. Thank you, fans! #KUbball

A post shared by Kansas Basketball (@kuhoops) on Mar 25, 2018 at 10:03pm PDT

Here are some nuggets of information for Jayhawk fans to keep in mind as Kansas heads to its 15th Final Four in San Antonio:

  • This is the third Final Four for head coach Bill Self. Kansas’ last Final Four appearances was in 2012 when the Jayhawks finished runner-up to Kentucky.
  • The Jayhawks’ five Final Four appearances since 2002 are tied with Duke for the most by any school in that span.
  • Kansas is one of just six schools to reach the Final Four 10-plus times: North Carolina (20), UCLA (17), Kentucky (17), Duke (16), KANSAS (15) and Ohio State (11).
  • Kansas has won 12 games in the Final Four, which is tied for fifth-best all-time: UCLA (25), Kentucky (20), North Carolina (18), Duke (17), KANSAS (12) and Indiana (12).
  • KU is one of eight schools that has won at least three NCAA Tournaments. The Jayhawks won the NCAA crown in 1952, 1988 and 2008. The other schools are: UCLA (11), Kentucky (8), North Carolina (6), Indiana (5), Duke (4), Connecticut (4) and Louisville (3).
  • Kansas is 3-2 in NCAA Tournament games played at the Alamodome in San Antonio, including at 2-0 mark in the Final Four. KU first lost to a Bill Self-coached Illinois team in the 2001 Midwest Regional Sweet 16, 80-64. Kansas then won the 2008 NCAA National Championship defeating North Carolina, 84-66, and Memphis, 75-68 in overtime. The 2008 Final Four is the only one in which all four No. 1 seeds advanced to the final weekend of the collegiate basketball season. In 2011, KU defeated Richmond, 77-57, in the Southwest Regional Sweet 16 and then lost to VCU, 71-61, in the regional finals.

The honors keep rolling in for senior guard Devonte’ Graham. On Tuesday, March 27, Graham was named to the Associated Press All-America First Team. Graham went 4-for-4 on consensus All-America first teams as he was also named to National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) and The Sporting News squads, which make up the consensus team announced by the NCAA. This makes Graham Kansas’ 30th Consensus All-America First Team selection, with the 30 being more than any other NCAA Division I school. North Carolina is second with 27.