Kawinpakorn Selected to All Big 12 Team

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas women’s golfer Yupaporn Kawinpakorn was named to the All-Big 12 Conference Women’s Golf team Thursday, three days after the KU women’s golf team was invited to its first-ever NCAA Regional Tournament.
Kawinpakorn, a sophomore from Samutprakan, Thailand, was one of 10 players chosen to the team which is chosen by using the top 10 highest-ranked golfers according to the Golfstat rankings following the Big 12 Championship. Kawinpakorn is the third-highest ranked player in the Big 12 according to Golfstat.
“I am proud of her (Kawinpakorn) for being named to the All-Big 12 Team,” head coach Erin O’Neil said. “She works hard every day and is a great leader for our team. She certainly is deserving of the honor.”
Kawinpakorn’s selection is just as she is having one of the best seasons in Kansas women’s golf history. Kawinpakorn has recorded seven top-10 finishes in 2013-14 while placing in second in three of those tournaments. Last week, she finished in a tie for second at the Big 12 Championship. Kawinpakorn is also on pace to set the Kansas all team season average low strokes per round, currently at 74.4, while leading the team in score in six events this season. Kawinpakorn will break her own season record of 75.3 set in 2012-13.
Kawinpakorn’s selection is the fourth time in Kansas in history that a Jayhawk is selected to the All-Big 12 Conference Women’s Golf team. Amanda Costner (2004-07) was named in back-to-back years (2006 and 2007), while Emily Powers (2007-10) was selected in 2008.
Joining Kawinpakorn on the All-Big 12 Conference Women’s Golf team is Chonlada Chayanun and Sasikarn On-lam from Iowa State, Alexandra Kaui, Chirapat Jao-Javanil,  and Anne-Catherine Tanguay from Oklahoma, Jayden Panos and Julie Yang from Oklahoma State, Sanna Nuutinen from TCU, and Bertine Struass of Texas.
KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.