KU Women’s Golf Travels to South Carolina for Lady Paladin Invitational

Lady Paladin Invitational
Sept. 21-23 * Furman University Golf Course * Greenville, S.C. * Par 72 * 6,226-yards
Junior Mackenzie Thayer
Lady Paladin Invitational
Team Score
Coastal Carolina
East Carolina
East Tennessee State
Florida State
Georgia State
Kennesaw State
North Carolina
Southern Mississippi
Texas Tech
UNC Greensboro
Wake Forest
Western Carolina
Individual Leaderboard (top 5)
Place Name Team Score
Kansas Leaderboard
Place Name Score
Gabriella DiMarco
Pornvipa Sakdee
Yupaporn Kawinpakorn
Michelle Woods
Minami Levonowich
Mackenzie Thayer (ind)

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Coming off of two-consecutive top-three finishes, the Kansas women’s golf team will be competing at the Lady Paladin Invitational in Greenville, South Carolina, September 21-23, at the Furman University Golf Course.
The Jayhawks will take six competitors to the tournament, one of which will be playing as an individual. The KU lineup will consist of sophomore Pornvipa Sakdee, junior Yupaporn Kawinpakorn and seniors Gabriella DiMarco, Michelle Woods and Minami Levonowich. Junior Mackenzie Thayer will play as an individual.
“We have had everyone stepping up across the board so far,” KU head coach Erin O’Neil said about the first two events of 2013-14. “Faii (Sakdee) played great at our home tournament and Gabby (DiMarco) stepped up at Minnesota. Hopefully we can keep doing that. I think we have good depth. Everybody needs to play their game and we should be fine.”
DiMarco is coming off a career best finish when she tied for sixth with a score of 221 (+5) at last week’s Minnesota Invitational. Sakdee and Kawinpakorn both carded a 229 (+13) to finish tied for 29th in Minnesota and Woods concluded her tournament last week by placing tied for 37th with a score of 231 (+15). Levonowich and Thayer will be competing in their second tournament of the fall.
The Lady Paladin Invitational will be hosted at the par-72 6,266-yard Furman University Golf Course that will have an 18-team field that will include: Kansas, Coastal Carolina, East Carolina, East Tennessee State, Florida State, Furman, Georgia State, Kennesaw State, North Carolina, Samford, Southern Mississippi, Texas Tech, Tulsa, UNC Greensboro, Wofford, Wake Forest, Western Carolina and Yale. The 54-hole tournament will be competed over three days with 18 holes on Sept. 21, 22 and 23.
KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.