21 Jayhawks placed on Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Teams

Link 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Teams (.pdf)

Three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team honorees Tessa Scott and Mary Slattery.

IRVING, Texas – The University of Kansas rowing team placed 21 Jayhawks on the 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Teams released Wednesday by the conference.

The first team is comprised of 140 honorees, including 19 Jayhawks, while the second team totals 18, including two Jayhawks. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

First Varsity Eight standout seniors Tessa Scott and Mary Slattery earned first-team honors for the third consecutive year to highlight the consistency of KU’s academic excellence. Scott was also awarded the Big 12’s Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship earlier this month during the Jayhawk Senior Celebration.

KU’s two-time Academic All-Big 12 selections include junior Bailey Brandon, senior Casey Kelly, junior Emily Ruble, junior Jordan Helms, junior Kenzie Obrochta, junior Kylee Dewey, junior Lexie Lanphere, junior Madison Irelan, senior Maggie Duncan, and junior Mallory Miller.

The league honors 158 student-athletes, including 89 members from Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas and West Virginia, while the remaining 69 are from the league’s three affiliate members in the sport – Alabama, Old Dominion and Tennessee.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Big 12 teams are three days away from meeting in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, for the Big 12 Championship regatta at Melton Hill Lake, May 14 to May 15.

Jayhawks on the 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Teams

Angie Allen (So.; Sports Management; Waterloo, Iowa)
Bailey Brandon (Jr.; Civil Engineering; Cameron Park, Calif.)
Bailey Coolidge (So.; Psyc/Pre-Med; Round Rock, Texas)
Kylee Dewey (Jr.; Middle School Math Education; Silver Lake, Kan.)
Maggie Duncan (Sr.; Geology; Mississauga, Ontario)
Jordan Helms (Jr.; Exercise Science; Le Mars, Iowa)
Maddie Irelan (Jr.; News & Information; Dublin, Ohio)
Meghan Karoly (So.; Exercise Science; Desoto, Mo.)
Casey Kelly (Sr.; Secondary Math Education; Gladstone, Mo.)
Mackenzie Klaver (Jr.; Human Biology; Norwich, Kan.)
Lexie Lanphere (Jr.; English and Chemistry; Shorewood, Wis.)
Mallory Miller (Jr.; Speech, Lang, Hearing; Pleasant Hill, Mo.)
Kenzie Obrochta (Jr.; Sports Management; Buffalo, N.Y.)
Emily Ruble (Jr.; Early Childhood Education; Leavenworth, Kan.)
Tessa Scott (Sr.; Linguistics; De Soto, Kan.)
Mary Slattery (Sr.; Marketing; Lenexa, Kan.)
Valerie Swisher (So.; Social Work; Wamego, Kan.)
Kaelyn Thierolf (So.; Secondary History Education; Marion, Kan.)
Margret Winter (Jr.; Exercise Science; Ballwin, Mo.)
Allison Schaaf (Jr.; Finance; Ankeny, Iowa) *
Katherine Young (Jr.; Orchestral Music; Chesterfield, Mo.) *

* – Second Team selection

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.