Scott Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year

Stats Rock Chalk Weekly: Go With the Flow

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Former Kansas rowing standout Tessa Scott’s work ethic to excel in academics, athletics, service, and leadership led to a trailblazing career as a student-athlete in Crimson and Blue. Tuesday marks the culmination of her collegiate efforts, as Scott was nominated by the Big 12 Conference for the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Scott, who intends on teaching in college eventually and has studied Swahili extensively, is a two-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree and the recipient of the Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award in 2015 – the highest academic award in the Big 12. The De Soto, Kansas, native parlayed her experience as a competitive power lifter to become an elite rower at the collegiate level. She rowed in the First Varsity Four boat as a freshman, the First and Second Varsity Eights as a junior, was a leader on the First Varsity Eight boat as a senior.

Scott was also recently recognized by the Big 12 as one of 20 recipients of the Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship as well as Kansas rowing’s senior academic achievement award and team academic award.  

She joins nine NCAA Woman of the Year nominees from the Big 12 Conference, including Kansas track & field’s Rhavean King.

This year marks the 26th year of the Woman of the Year Award program, which was established in 1991, and marks the most ever nominations in the history of the Woman of the Year program (517).  

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Student-athletes are nominated only once in their career by their school. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics manages the nomination process and selections.

A nominee must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2015-16 competitive season and received her undergraduate degree no later than the summer 2016 term and have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.50 (4.00 scale).

Big 12 Conference’s NCAA Woman of the Year nominees
Imani Boyette, Texas (Basketball)
Hannah Carson, Texas Tech (Outdoor Track and Field)
Amanda Hill, West Virginia (Soccer)
Christina Hillman, Iowa State (Indoor Track and Field, Outdoor Track and Field)
Rhavean King, Kansas (Indoor Track and Field, Outdoor Track and Field)
Keeley  Kmieciak, Oklahoma (Gymnastics)
Justine Peters, Oklahoma State (Equestrian)
Tessa Scott, Kansas (Rowing)
Dani Winters, Kansas State (Indoor Track and Field, Outdoor Track and Field) The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.