Former Jayhawk Darrell Stuckey Recognized By KCSC

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Former Kansas football standout Darrell Stuckey was named as the co-Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year by the Kansas City Sports Commission at its 38th annual Awards Show Wednesday night.

Stuckey, who finished his career at Kansas this past fall after graduating from Washington High School in Kansas City, Kan., shared the honor with LaRon Council of Northwest Missouri State.

Stuckey, a safety who was selected by the San Diego Chargers in the fourth round of the National Football League draft this spring, finished his career with 295 career tackles.

This past season, he led the Jayhawks with 93 tackles en route to earning All-Big 12 First-Team honors by the Associated Press and honorable mention accolades by the league coaches.

He was in the running for a number of national awards, including being named to the American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team, a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award, a quarterfinalist for the Lott Award, and a watch list selection for the Bednarik and Nagurski Awards.

The last time a Jayhawk was named a college athlete of the year by the K.C. Sports Commission was former basketball standout Brandon Rush (Westport HS) in 2008. Other Jayhawks who have won the award, which was started in 2001, include baseball player Don Czyz (Blue Valley HS) in 2006 and basketball player Wayne Simien (Leavenworth HS) in 2005.

Kansas City Sports Commission Awards

Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award- Willie Lanier

CASEY Award- Bill Hancock (Executive Director BCS)

Special Achievement Award for Professional Athletics- Jamaal Charles

Joe McGuff Sports Journalist of the Year- Mitch Holthus

Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year – Darrell Stuckey (Football, Kansas) and LeRon Council (Football, NWMSU)
Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year- Morgan Marlborough (Soccer, Nebraska)
Special Recognition Awards- Mel Tjeerdsma, Larry Holley, Mark Nusbaum and Steve Rampy