Selden Named Top-10 Finalist for Julius Erving Award

Link Julius Erving Award Finalists

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas junior Wayne Selden Jr., has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2016 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

A native of Roxbury, Massachusetts, Selden is coming off a career-high 33 points in Kansas’ 90-84 overtime win versus No. 20/19 Kentucky on Feb. 3. Selden is fifth in the Big 12 in scoring at 15.4 points per game, second in the league in 3-points field goals made per game at 2.5 and third in 3-point field goal percentage at 47.3 percent. Selden has five 20-point efforts for the season with two in Big 12 play (24 vs. Baylor [1/2], 21 vs. Oklahoma [1/4]). Earlier this season he was the co-MVP of the Maui Jim Maui Invitational in guiding KU to the tourney title. In the Kentucky contest, Selden became 57th KU player to reach 1,000 career points.

The Julius Erving awards are in their second year of existence. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to the 10 finalists. In March, the two 10-person lists will be narrowed to five. The winners of the two honors will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles on Friday, April 8, 2016.

2016 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Finalists 
Roosevelt Jones, Butler
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Wayne Selden Jr., KANSAS
Damion Lee, Louisville
Ben Simmons, Louisiana State
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
DeAndre Bembry, Saint Joseph’s
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Trevon Blulett, Xavier The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.