Jackson named Julius Erving Award finalist

Link HoopHallAwards.com

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas freshman Josh Jackson is one of 10 watch list finalists for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Week for the fifth time this season on Jan. 30, Jackson is coming off his fifth double-double of the year with 20 points and 10 rebounds at Kentucky on Jan. 28. The Detroit, Michigan, native’s 15.7 scoring average is sixth in the Big 12 and first among conference freshmen. Jackson is ninth in the Big 12 in rebounds at 6.7 boards per contest. Jackson leads KU with 34 steals and 26 blocked shots in 2016-17.

Named after Hall of Famer and 11-time NBA All-Star Julius Erving, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top small forwards in NCAA Division I men’s basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to 10.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award. The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on Friday, April 7, 2017. Former KU standout Perry Ellis was one of five finalists for the Erving award each of the last two seasons in 2014-15 and 2015-16.

This is the third-straight day a Kansas player has been named a watch list finalist by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. KU senior Frank Mason III was listed among the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award top-10 finalists, announced Jan. 30. Junior Devonte’ Graham was named to the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award watch list on Jan. 31.

2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Finalists
Evan Bradds – Belmont
Kelan Martin – Butler
Jaron Blossomgame – Clemson
Jayson Tatum – Duke
Dwayne Bacon – Florida State
Justin Jackson – North Carolina
Dillon Brooks – Oregon
Josh Hart – Villanova
Trevon Bluiett – Xavier

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.