Kansas sweeps Associated Press All-Big 12 honors

Link AP.org

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Big 12 champion Kansas made a clean sweep of the Associated Press (AP) 2017 All-Big 12 awards as the AP announced its conference men’s basketball honors Monday. KU senior Frank Mason III is the AP’s Big 12 Player of the Year, while freshman Josh Jackson is the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and Bill Self the Coach of the Year, mirroring the Big 12 coaches’ selection of awards released yesterday.

Mason was the unanimous selection for player of the year by the AP which had a panel of 18 journalists which cover the league vote on the awards. Self is the coach of the year for the third-consecutive season and the sixth time in the past 12 years.

Mason and Baylor’s Johnathan Motley were unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selections. Jackson was also a first-team honoree along with Monte Morris of Iowa State and Jawun Evans of Oklahoma State.

KU junior guard Devonte’s Graham was named to the second team by AP and senior center Landen Lucas was an honorable mention selection.


Coach of the Year — BILL SELF, Kansas
Player of the Year — (u) FRANK MASON III, Kansas
Newcomer of the Year — JOSH JACKSON, Kansas

(u) FRANK MASON III, Kansas, Sr., 5-11, 190, Petersburg, Virginia
(u) Johnathan Motley, Baylor, Jr., 6-10, 230, Houston
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State, So., 6-1, 185, Dallas
JOSH JACKSON, Kansas, Fr., 6-8, 207, Detroit
Monte Morris, Iowa State, Sr., 6-3, 175, Flint, Michigan

Jarrett Allen, Texas, Fr., 6-11, 235, Round Rock, Texas
Deonte Burton, Iowa State, Sr., 6-4, 250, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State, Jr., 6-6, 215, Rowlett, Texas
Jevon Carter, West Virginia, Jr., 6-2, 200, Maywood, Illinois
DEVONTE’ GRAHAM, Kansas, Jr., 6-2, 185, Raleigh, North Carolina

Nathan Adrian, West Virginia; Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU; Keenan Evans, Texas Tech; Phil Forte III, Oklahoma State; Wesley Iwundu, Kansas State; Jo Lual-Acuil Jr., Baylor; Manu Lecomte, Baylor; LANDEN LUCAS, Kansas; Naz Mitrou-Long, Iowa State; Zach Smith, Texas Tech

u = unanimous selection

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.