Lawson named Naismith Trophy semifinalist

ATLANTA – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Citizens Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.
The 2018-19 season marks the third-straight year a Kansas player has been named a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy which represents the national player of the year. In 2016-17, Frank Mason III won the honor and last season Devonte’ Graham was one of four finalists for the award. Lawson is looking to become the third Jayhawk to win the Naismith Trophy joining Danny Manning in 1988 and Mason in 2017.
Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.0 ppg, rebounding at 10.5 rpg and with 19 double-doubles. A national player of the year and All-American candidate, the Memphis, Tennessee, forward has 14 games of 20 or more points and his 19 double-doubles and are tied for eighth nationally. Lawson is the only player in the league averaging a double-double. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 30 blocked shots and his 1.0 blocks per game are fifth in the conference. His 49.3 field goal percentage is ninth in the league.
The four Naismith Trophy finalists will be announced on March 19, 2019, and beginning March 22 through April 3, 2019, fans will have a chance to vote for their favorite player of the four by visiting to cast their ballot. The fan vote will account for five percent of the overall vote. The 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the Naismith Awards Brunch presented by Mortenson on April 7, 2019, during the Final Four in Minneapolis.
The four finalists will be chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, comprised of leading journalists from around the country, current and former head coaches, former award winners and conference commissioners, all of whom base their selections on outstanding on-court performances during the 2018-19 college basketball season.
For more information, visit
2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Semifinalists
Name, School (Class, Position)
R.J. Barrett, Duke (Fr., F)
Carsen Edwards, Purdue (Jr., G)
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga (Jr., F)
Markus Howard, Marquette (Jr., G)
Ja Morant, Murray State (So., G)
P.J. Washington, Kentucky (So., F)
Grant Williams, Tennessee (Jr., F)
Zion Williamson, Duke (Fr., F)
Cassius Winston, Michigan State (Jr., G) 
@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.