Lawson named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Final Midseason Watch List

ST. LOUIS – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of 12 student-athletes to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Final Midseason Watch List, the U.S. Basketball Writers Associations (USBWA) announced Wednesday.
Members of the USBWA’s board of directors chose the players that will be considered as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy which recognizes the national player of the year. The Oscar Robertson Trophy is to be presented by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in Minneapolis in April and the winner will be honored at the USBWA Awards Dinner on April 15 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. In 2017, Kansas’ Frank Mason III became the first Jayhawk to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy. 
Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.4 points per game and rebounding with a 10.8 average. The Memphis, Tennessee, native has four double-doubles in his last six games and is the only player in the Big 12 averaging a double-double. Lawson has a Big 12-leading 15 double-doubles for the season, which is tied for second nationally. On most every national player of the year watch lists and a Sporting News Midseason All-America First Team selection, Lawson has scored 20 or more points in 12 games this season, including three of the last five contests. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and four-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28), Lawson leads KU with 26 blocked shots and his 1.2 blocks per game are fifth in the conference and his 50.8 field goal percentage is sixth.


Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F RJ Barrett, Duke 6-7 202 Fr Mississauga, Ont.
G Jarrett Culver, Texas Tech 6-6 195 So. Lubbock, Texas
G Carsen Edwards, Purdue 6-1 200 Jr. Atascocita, Texas
F Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga 6-8 230 Jr. Toyama, Japan
F Ethan Happ, Wisconsin 6-10 237 Sr. Milan, Ill.
G Markus Howard, Marquette 5-11 175 Jr. Chandler, Ariz.
G De’Andre Hunter, Virginia 6-7 225 So. Philadelphia, Pa.
F Dedric Lawson, Kansas 6-9 235 Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
G Ja Morant, Murray State 6-3 175 So. Dalzell, S.C.
F Grant Williams, Tennessee 6-7 236 Jr. Charlotte, N.C.
F Zion Williamson, Duke 6-7 285 Fr. Spartanburg, S.C.
G Cassius Winston, Michigan State 6-1 185 Jr. Detroit, Mich.
By conference: ACC 3; Big Ten 3; Big 12 2; Big East 1; Ohio Valley 1; SEC 1; West Coast 1.
By class: Seniors 1; Juniors 6; Sophomores 3; Freshmen 2.

@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.