Two Jayhawks on Citizen Naismith Trophy men’s watch list

ATLANTA – Kansas junior Dedric Lawson and freshman Quentin Grimes have been named to the 50-member 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday.
Named to the six-member Associated Press Preseason All-America team, the Preseason Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and Preseason All-Big 12 First Team last month, Lawson sat out last season after transferring from Memphis. The Memphis, Tennessee, forward averaged 19.2 points and 9.9 rebounds, amassing 19 double-doubles his sophomore year for the Tigers in 2016-17, earning All-American Athletic Conference First Team honors. As a freshman, Lawson averaged 15.8 points and 9.3 rebounds with 17 double-doubles for Memphis.
Named the Preseason Big 12 Freshman of the Year and preseason All-Big 12 Honorable Mention, Grimes is a five-star combo guard who made his rounds on the all-star game circuit following his senior year at College Park High School in The Woodlands, Texas. Ranked No. 8 in the national recruiting services, he averaged 29.5 points, 8.6 rebounds and 4.9 assists his senior season, earning the 2017-18 Texas Gatorade Player of the Year, Texas Mr. Basketball and the 6A Player of the Year honors. This past summer, Grimes was the Most Valuable Player and an All-Tournament selection at the 2018 FIBA Americas U18 Championships in leading USA to the gold medal, where he averaged 14.7 points, 4.0 rebounds and 3.8 assists. The USA squad was coached by KU head coach Bill Self.
A list of the midseason 30 team will be released on Feb. 13, 2019, followed by the 10 national semifinalists and four finalists on March 4, 2019 and March 19, 2019 respectively. The 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 7, 2019, during the Final Four in Minneapolis.
Historically, Kansas’ Frank Mason III won the Naismith Trophy following the 2016-17 season. Jayhawk Devonte’ Graham was a finalist last season.
To see the complete list of candidates for the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Player of the Year, go here.
No. 1 Kansas opens the 2018-19 season when it plays No. 10 Michigan State in the State Farm Champions Classic, Tuesday, Nov. 6, at 6 p.m. (Central) at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.



@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.