Communications

Kansas Athletics Communications is happy to serve the working media in any way possible. Our staff will fulfill all reasonable requests.

Football and men’s basketball requests must be made online here. Media credentials will be shipped at the outlets’ expense. The University of Kansas follows the guidelines set forth by the NCAA and the Big 12 Conference in governing the issuance of credentials. All other credential requests should be submitted to the sport contacts.

We strongly urge you to do so at least two weeks in advance. When making interview requests, please allow at least 24 hours notice. Advance notice on both items will help ensure that your request will be handled efficiently.

To confirm receipt of credential requests or to check the status of a request, please contact Communications office manager Erin Penning via email or 785.864.3417.

Kansas Athletics Communications:
1651 Naismith Drive
1400 Parrott
Lawrence, Kan. 66045

Phone: 785.864.3417
Fax: 785.864.7944

Interviews

Out-of-town media wishing to interview Kansas student-athletes should also contact the communications office with their requests. Home and cell phone numbers for players will not be provided and players have been instructed not to accept calls from media without prior notice from the communications office. Please do not contact a player or coach without scheduling the interview through the communications office.

Injury Information

The University of Kansas athletics department will abide by HIPAA – a federal privacy act with regard to the release of injury information. KU athletes will be required to sign a waiver before their injury information is released to the media. If the athlete chooses to withhold that information, KU officials will be restricted to informing the media members of their playing status only – playing, probable, doubtful or out.

Email

Releases, game notes, advisories, etc., are e-mailed to media that cover Kansas on a regular basis. Media wishing to be added to the e-mail list for a particular sport should contact the communications representative responsible for that sport.

Media FTP

Player head shots, highlights and selected interviews are available via the Kansas Athletics’ Media FTP site. Please visit the Media FTP or contact D.J. Haurin for additional requests.

Phone Lines

Media wishing to install telephone lines should contact KU Telecommunications at 785.864.9300. Ask for customer service and please notify them two weeks in advance. One ISDN and two POTS lines for visiting radio networks have been installed by the Jayhawk Radio Network. Rental or reciprocal trade agreements for these lines can be made by contacting Steve Kincaid via email or at 785.691.8346.

Broadcast Rights

All requests for radio and television (both delayed and live) rights should be directed to Assistant Athletics Director for Communications, Chris Theisen. Origination fees and requirements for fee waivers will be explained in writing along with the issuance of contracts.

Name Title Phone Email Address
COMMUNICATIONS
Morgyn Seigfried

Associate Athletics Director – Communications and Creative Services

mseigfried@ku.edu
Chris Theisen

Assistant Athletics Director - Communications (MBB, MGOLF*)

864-3474 theisen@ku.edu
Katy Lonergan

Director of Football Communications (FB, WGOLF*)

864-7314 katyl@ku.edu
Brent Beerends

Assistant Communications Director (VB, SB)

beerends@ku.edu
Andy Eisch

Assistant Communications Director

330-3698 aeisch@ku.edu
Brad Gilbert

Assistant Communications Director (WSOC, MBB, KU Relays)

864-7788 brgilbert@ku.edu
DJ Haurin

Assistant Communications Director (BSB, S&D*)

864-3575 dhaurin@ku.edu
Brian Hanni

Director of Broadcasting

bhanni@ku.edu
Erin Penning

Office Manager/Publications Coordinator (WTEN*)

864-3417 epenning@ku.edu
Kathleen Cooper

Graphic Designer

864-3407 khermesch@ku.edu
Keenen Jones

Graphic Designer

Jeff Jacobsen

Photographer

331-9930 jacobsen@ku.edu
Rachel Pincus

Strategic Communications Manager

864-7942 rpincus@ku.edu